Roberto Yano-Sweetwater Authority-Assistant General ManagerRoberto Yano is the new assistant general manager for the Sweetwater Authority. Photo: Sweetwater Authority

Sweetwater Authority Welcomes Roberto Yano as Assistant General Manager

Sweetwater Authority has brought on Roberto Yano as the agency’s new Assistant General Manager. With 30 years of experience in public works, engineering and leadership at the City of Chula Vista and the City of National City, Yano brings a wealth of relevant knowledge and expertise to the Authority.

As the Assistant General Manager, Yano will play a vital role in supporting the Authority’s mission to provide safe, reliable water to the community. With an extensive track record in the public sector, he will bring strategic insights and a collaborative approach to the Authority’s operations.

Roberto Yano brings “fresh perspective”

“We are excited to welcome Roberto to our team,” said Carlos Quintero, General Manager of Sweetwater Authority. “His experience in public works and leadership with the cities the Authority works closely with will serve him well in his new role here at the Authority. I am confident he will bring a fresh perspective to the Authority, and I look forward to working closely with him.”

Yano is a registered Professional Engineer (PE), San Diego State University alum and was most recently the Director of Public Works/City Engineer at the City of National City.

The Sweetwater Authority is a public water agency providing safe, reliable water to National City, Chula Vista and Bonita. Sweetwater Authority is a publicly-owned water agency with policies and procedures established by a seven-member Board of Directors. The Sweetwater Authority Governing Board is composed of five directors elected by division by the citizens of the South Bay Irrigation District, and two directors appointed by the Mayor of National City, subject to City Council confirmation.

(Editor’s note: The Sweetwater Authority is one of the San Diego County Water Authority’s 24 member agencies that deliver water across the San Diego County region.)