FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 16, 2020

Contact: Tenille M. Otero Office: (619) 670-2256 Cell: (619) 733-1479 totero@otaywater.gov

> Otay Water District Board Elects Tim Smith as 2021 Board President Mark Robak Elected as Vice President and Jose Lopez as Treasurer

Spring Valley, CA – At its December meeting, the Otay Water District Board of Directors elected new officers to lead the District's Board for 2021.

The board elected board member Tim Smith, who represents division 1, as president. The board also elected board member Mark Robak, serving division 5, as vice president and Jose Lopez, serving division 4, as treasurer.

Smith's election as president follows one year of board leadership under past president Gary Croucher. Smith will serve as president through January 2022 when officer elections will again take place.

"I'm proud to serve on the District's leadership team and play a key role in setting a reputable example within our community, our region, and the state," said Smith. "I understand the pandemic has impacted us all, and as president I look forward to safely returning to normal operations when the time is right, working to provide support for those affected by the COVID-19 crisis, and continuing to be a water industry leader in efficiencies, technology, operations, and more."

In 2020 Smith served as chair of the District's engineering, operations, and water resources committee and as a member of the desalination project committee. He also served as the District's representative for the California Special District's Association, Chula Vista Interagency group, OWD and Sweetwater Authority Task Force to develop recycled water opportunities, the San Diego Area Wastewater Management District (Metro Commission), and ACWA-JPIA.

Smith has a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degree in civil engineering from San Diego State University and worked for private civil engineering companies for 11 years. He also worked as a senior civil engineer at the San Diego County Water Authority from 2001-2004 and at Helix Water District as a principal engineer from 2004 to 2011. After seven years, Smith recently retired as a lecturer at San Diego State University in the Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering Department.

Smith has served as the District's representative on San Diego County Water Authority's Board of Directors since January 2017. He serves on the administrative and finance and engineering and operations committees. Smith also serves as the Metropolitan Water District Delegate for the Water Authority. The Water Authority is governed by a 36-member Board representing the 24 member agencies in San Diego County, one of which is the Otay Water District.

Following the vote of officers by the Board, each of the directors immediately assumed all powers and duties of an officer of the Board of Directors.

About the Board of Directors

The five-member Board of Directors is the governing body of the District and is responsible for setting rates for service, taxes, policies, ordinances, adopting the annual budget and other matters related to the management and operation of the water agency. Each director is elected by voters within one of five divisions to represent the public's interest on the Board. Directors serve four-year terms in office.

About the Otay Water District

The Otay Water District is a public agency providing water, recycled water, and sewer service to approximately 226,000 customers within approximately 125 square miles of southeastern San Diego County, including the communities of eastern Chula Vista, Bonita, Jamul, Spring Valley, Rancho San Diego, unincorporated areas of El Cajon and La Mesa, and eastern Otay Mesa along the international border with Mexico. For more information on the Otay Water District, visit otaywater.gov.