

Media Contact:

Alessandra Angelone Sweetwater Authority Public Affairs Representative (619) 409-6721

FAX:

(619) 425-7469

Mailing address:

P.O. Box 2328 Chula Vista, CA 91912-2328

E-mail address:

aangelone@sweetwater.org

Offices:

505 Garrett Avenue Chula Vista, CA 91910 (619) 420-1413

General Manager:

Tish Berge

Assistant General Manager:

Jennifer Sabine

Governing Board:

Steve Castaneda, Chair Hector Martinez, Vice Chair Josie Calderon-Scott Jerry Cano José F. Cerda Jose Preciado Aleiandra Sotelo-Solis Friday, January 31, 2020 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Sweetwater Authority Board Appoints Chair and New Committee Assignments for 2020

Chula Vista, CA –Sweetwater Authority (Authority) Governing Board voted in December to appoint Steve Castaneda as Board Chair for 2020; this will be his second term as chair. Hector Martinez was appointed as Vice Chair for 2020.

In January, Chair Castaneda assigned the Authority's seven-member board to the Authority's standing committees.

Finance and Personnel Committee

José Cerda, Jose Preciado and Alejandra Sotelo-Solis

Operations Committee

Josie Calderon-Scott, Jerry Cano and Hector Martinez

Communications Committee

Josie Calderon-Scott, José Cerda and Alejandra Sotelo-Solis

Authority Board members serve on standing committees, interagency committees and boards, and ad hoc committees. A full list of committee assignments can be found under the individual directors' biographies on the Authority's website at www.sweetwater.org.

The Authority's Board is composed of seven members; five directors are elected by division by the citizens of the South Bay Irrigation District, and two directors are appointed by the Mayor of National City, subject to City Council confirmation.

Sweetwater Authority, a joint powers public agency, provides public water service to approximately 190,000 people residing in National City and the South Bay Irrigation District (which includes portions of Chula Vista and most of Bonita).