

...Dedicated to Community Service 2554 SWEETWATER SPRINGS BLVD, SPRING VALLEY, CA 91978-2004 (619) 670-2222 otaywater.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 8, 2019

Contact: Tenille M. Otero Office: (619) 670-2256 Cell: (619) 733-1479 totero@otaywater.gov

Otay Water District Board Elects New Officers

Spring Valley, CA – At its Jan. 2, 2019 meeting, the Otay Water District Board of Directors elected new Board officers to lead the District's Board for 2019.

The Board elected board member Mitch Thompson, who represents division 2, as president. The Board also elected board member Mark Robak, serving division 5, as vice president.

Thompson's election as president follows one year of Board leadership under past president Tim Smith. In 2018, Thompson served as vice president of the Board. He has served on the District's Board since May 2012. Thompson will serve as president through January 2020 when officer elections will again occur.

"The customers come first for us at Otay. I believe Otay is one of the best run public agencies in the State of California," said Thompson. "As president, I will do everything I can to further and advance the high standard of excellence and integrity we have demonstrated in the past. With my Board colleagues, our General Manager Mark Watton and our highly productive and professional staff, Otay will continue to provide superior water and sewer services and products at the least possible cost to our customers."



Mitch Thompson

Thompson received a double Bachelors of Arts in Urban Studies and Political Science from the University of California, San Diego. His 40-year career includes 11 years as a commercial real estate lender with Bank of America, 12 years in local government, and 17 years in real estate development, investing and consulting. He continues to be an active developer, investor and realtor in the South Bay area of San Diego County, while also remaining active in a number of local civic issues. He has served in a variety of leadership positions on the boards of nonprofits and government agencies including the Chula Vista City Council in 2010. In addition, he currently serves on the boards of the San Diego County Water Conservation Authority and the Southwestern Community College Foundation.

Following the vote of officers by the Board, each of the directors immediately assumed all powers and duties of an officer of the Board of Directors.

About the Board of Directors

The five-member Board of Directors is the governing body of the District and is responsible for setting rates for service, taxes, policies, ordinances, adopting the annual budget and other matters related to the management and operation of the water agency. Each director is elected by voters within one of five divisions to represent the public's interest on the Board. Directors serve four-year terms in office.

About the Otay Water District

The Otay Water District is a public agency distributing water to more than 225,000 customers within approximately 125 square miles of southeastern San Diego County, including the communities of Otay Mesa, Chula Vista, Jamul, Spring Valley, Rancho San Diego, and unincorporated areas of El Cajon and La Mesa. For more information on Otay Water District, visit <u>otaywater.gov</u>.

###