

Media Contact:

Leslie Payne Sweetwater Authority Public Affairs Manager (619) 409-6723

FAX:

(619) 425-7469

Mailing address:

P.O. Box 2328 Chula Vista, CA 91912-2328

E-mail address:

lpayne@sweetwater.org

Offices:

505 Garrett Avenue Chula Vista, CA 91910 (619) 420-1413

General Manager:

Tish Berge

Assistant General Manager:

Jennifer Sabine

Governing Board:

Steve Castaneda, Chair Jose Preciado, Vice Chair Josie Calderon-Scott José F. Cerda Hector Martinez Ron Morrison Jess Van Deventer Thursday, December 13, 2018

Newly elected and reelected Sweetwater Authority board members sworn in for four year terms; new chair and vice chair appointed

At the December 12 Sweetwater Authority (Authority) Governing Board meeting, Steve Castaneda and Hector Martinez were sworn into their four-year terms as Directors. At the same meeting, the Authority's Governing Board appointed Castaneda as Board Chair and Jose Preciado as Vice Chair for 2019-2020 term.

Castaneda was reelected to Division 1, and has served on the Authority's Board since 2014. Martinez is the newly-elected Director in Division 4. He replaces former Director Teresa "Terry" Thomas, who retired from the Board after serving for 12 years.

The Authority's board is composed of seven members; five directors are elected by division by the citizens of the South Bay Irrigation District, and two directors are appointed by the Mayor of National City, subject to City Council confirmation.

Sweetwater Authority, a joint powers public agency, provides public water service to approximately 189,000 people residing in National City and the South Bay Irrigation District (which includes portions of Chula Vista and most of Bonita).

- END -